Change

I’m composing this blog on my phone as my husband drives us to Sioux Falls. I’ve been thinking about how I need to blog and I’ve had quite a few ideas, but I haven’t set aside the time to actually write.

The school year is wrapping up and conversations about the next year are beginning. There are many conversations about change happening. New staff. New classes. More students.

As I worked on plans for my sub for the 2 days I’ll be at the TIE conference, I was reflecting on how I’ve changed my lessons from even the last trimester and especially my first year.

Some people dislike change, it can be difficult or uncomfortable. I think I’m on the other end of the extreme. I am constantly changing and adapting. While trying to get better at being a reflective educator I think that constantly changing is keeping me from comparing and developing.

If what I teach is a little different every time, if I adjust the assessments or the delivery system then it is hard to know exactly what is having a positive or negative effect on my students.

Additionally, it is harder to become better at something if you don’t continue to practice and learn.

I need to find that balance of healthy change, when it is beneficial to the learning in our school.

My goal is to share my learning from the TIE conference this year on this blog.

 

Leave a Reply

